CAC students recognized at 4 graduations

Christian Academy of Carrollton, Kentucky, held graduation ceremonies for both 4- and 5-year old kindergarten students, eighth grader and seniors recently and recognized several students for high honors.

Kindergarten 4-year-old graduates included McKinley Blevins, Cruz Brandon, Bella Breeden, Amelia Hagedorn, Tandy Hudgins, Gabriel Kiman, Lydia Lawrence, Rocco Magnone, Cheyenne Maiden, Wiley Price, Lillian Purvis, Augie Richter, Mary Jane Robinson, Addison Smith, Kaanon Tilley, Benjamin Young, and Getsemani Zuniga. Their teacher is Susie Scott.

Kindergarten 5-year-old graduates included Will Browning, Zoey Carter, Noah Cary, Oliver Dermon, Monte Evans, Remington Lewis, Amelya Mayes, Louis Micsky, William Minch, Brynsten Peters, Jaxson Wilson, Grayson Young, and Aydenn Zambrano. Their teacher is Elizabeth Owens.

The school had five eigth grade graduates including Clay Kamphouse, Liam Kyle and Karah Southworth, all of Carrollton, and Daisy Mayes, of Bedford, Kentucky, and Jaziel Zuniga, of Warsaw, Kentucky. Southworth had the highest GPA at 4.0 and Zuniga received the Christian Character Award.

The Academy graduated four 12th graders including Olivia Breeden, of Carrollton, Kerry Glancy, of Owenton, Silas Scott of Madison, Indiana, and Lauren Watkins, of Worthville, Kentucky. Breeden and Glancy were the co-valedictorians and Scott received the Christian Character Award. Breeden, Glancy and Watkins all plan to attend college.

Shawe & Pope John scholarships announced

Friends of Shawe & Pope John Schools Inc., along with other donors, recently announced tuition scholarships to be applied toward each recipient’s 2020-2021 Shawe Memorial Jr/Sr High School tuition. Prince of Peace Schools is grateful to our community of donors for providing these financial gifts to support Catholic education in our area.

The awards included:

The Jim Koehler Memorial Scholarship ($500 each) was awarded to Katie Jacobs and Wyatt Nichter.

The Frank Sr. & Carolyn Mingione Memorial Scholarship ($1,000) was awarded to Zachary Gish.

The Sr. Carmen de Barros Scholarship ($750 each) on behalf of the Sisters of St. Francis was awarded to Tarcila Garcia-Nonato and Yolett Perez. Sr. Carmen renewal scholarships were awarded to Mariana Perez Reyes, Marili Perez and Shirley Aguilar.

Friends of Shawe and Pope John Schools Inc., organized in 1986 with an endowment to provide long-term financial support to Prince of Peace Catholic Schools, also awarded $18,950 in scholarships to be applied toward student tuition including.

Sr. Thomasita Hayes Memorial Scholarship ($500) awarded and Herman & Rozella Hoffman Memorial Scholarship ($500) both awarded to Trey Suggett.

Class of ’81/ Elizabeth Hoffman Memorial Scholarship ($100) awarded to Yolett Perez.

Matthew J. & Clara Hunger Hoffman Family Memorial Scholarship ($500) awarded to Cooper Birge.

Class of 1956 Honorary Scholarship ($1,100) and Philip & Sharon Kahn Family Memorial Scholarship ($800) both awarded to Jacob Hertz.

Grace Rose Stem Memorial Scholarship ($1,500) awarded to Olivia Drumm.

Marge Schafer Tandy and Boo and Helen Schafer Memorial Scholarship ($900) awarded to Tarcila Garcia-Nonato.

Winkel Family Memorial Scholarship ($1,300) awarded to Kira Wells.

Dr. William & Mrs. Rose Mary Stucker Memorial Scholarship ($1,300) awarded Jessica Lopez-Mejia.

Harold A. VandeWater Memorial Scholarship ($1,500) awarded to Brady Jackson.

Paul & Joy Buchanan Memorial Scholarship ($2,500) awarded to Allie Riedel.

The Friends and Family Memorial Scholarship (partnered with the Naomi Spencer Scholarship) ($500) awarded to Emma Clark.

Friends’ scholarships for seniors will be applied toward each recipient’s college expenses including:

Jim and Nancy Sedam Family Scholarship ($200) awarded to Jason Minnick.

Karen Dierkes-Ihle Memorial Scholarship ($3,000) and Fr. Charles Walsh Memorial Scholarship ($250) awarded to Nate Pawlak.

John and Mary Dierkes Memorial Scholarship ($500) awarded to Jason Minnick and ($2,000) awarded to Ethan Stuart.

Senior scholarships for the Shawe Memorial Class of 2020 will be announced via social media later in May.

DAR awards history, Good Citizen winners

The John Paul Chapter of the Daughters of the American Revolution has announced winners of its Annual American History Contest. Since this year was the 400th Anniversary of the Mayflower voyage and founding of the Plymouth Colony, contestants were asked to write about how they might prepare for that long trip in 1620 and what it would be like when arriving in this new land.

Sixth grade winners are: Kaston Webster, first, Home School; Matthew Vaughn, second, Pope John; and Lauren Gage, third, Pope John.

Fifth grade winner are: Caitlyn McRoberts, first, Pope John; Connor Kahn, second, Pope John; and Nora May, third, Pope John.

Each winner received a certificate and a gift from the chapter.

The DAR Good Citizen Award is given annually to a senior from Madison, Shawe and Southwestern who show qualities of dependability, service, leadership and patriotism. Each student was asked to write an essay, without references, on the topic “Our American Heritage and our Responsibility for Preserving it” and focus on “You and your peers are our nation’s leaders of tomorrow. How would you energize America’s youth to fully engage as effective citizens? Why is this important?”

Winners were: Ethan Stuart, Shawe Memorial High School; Shahala Brown, Southwestern High School; and Elias Hanson, Madison Consolidated High school. Each received a certificate, a pin and a gift from the chapter.

Kamphouse graduates from Bob Jones University

Jessica Kamphouse, of Carrollton, was among nearly 700 students who graduated from Bob Jones University on Friday, May 8, in Greenville, South Carolina.

A 2016 graduate of Carroll County High School who attended grade school at Christian Academy of Carrollton, Kamphouse graduated Bob Jones with a bachelor of arts degree in English. She was a Legacy Scholarship and Academic Scholarship recipient at the university.

Traditional, in-person commencement exercises at Bob Jones will be held Saturday, Aug. 29.