Jamie Kinman defeated incumbent Carroll County Sheriff Ben Smith for the Democratic nomination by 354 votes in Kentucky's primary election Tuesday.

Kinman won with 1,191 votes, while, Smith received 837. James "J.T." Shaw received 480 votes, and Eddie M. Mefford and Jim Hamilton each received 282 votes.

Kinman said it was a good race and thanked all the Carroll County voters who supported and helped him during his campaign.

"I'm just overwhelmed right now," he said. "I'm grateful for everything that's happened and I will do the best I can as sheriff."

Smith declined to comment about the election results.

Hamilton, Shaw and Mefford did not immediately return a phone call seeking comment.

No Republican sheriff candidates were on the ballot.

In other news, incumbent Carroll County District 1 Magistrate Floyd Bowling won the Democratic nomination for another term with 689 votes. His opponent, John Proctor, had 344 votes.

Bowling did not immediately return a phone call seeking comment.

Proctor said he and Bowling ran a "good clean race" and that he appreciated all the voters who cast a ballot for him.

No Republican magistrate candidates were on the ballot.

Incumbent Carroll County Coroner David Wilhoite earned the Democratic nomination with 2,461 votes. His opponents were Charles "Chuck" Webb, who received 437 votes, and Jaime Wainscott, who received 142 votes.

Wilhoite and Wainscott did not immediately return a phone call seeking comment.

Webb said the results were somewhat expected.

"As a young man starting out in politics in this town, you have to get started somewhere," he said.

In the U.S. Senate race, Republican Rand Paul received 147 votes in Carroll County. His closest opponent, C. N. "Trey" Grayson, had 61 votes. The other Republican senatorial candidates were John Stephenson, 7; Bill Johnson, 7; Gurley L. Martin, 1; and John Scribner, who did not receive any votes in Carroll County.

Democratic U.S. Senate candidate Jack Conway received 1,350 votes in Carroll County. His opponents were Daniel Mongiardo, who received 1,022 votes in Carroll County; Darlene F. Price, 231; James Buckmaster, 110; and Maurice M. Sweeney, 84.

The state Senate District 26 candidates were both Republicans, with incumbent State Sen. Ernie Harris winning the party's nomination with 162 votes. His opponent, Don Godfrey, had 55 votes.

No Democratic candidates were on the ballot.

In the three constable elections, one incumbent was defeated for the Democratic nomination and the other two were nominated by Democratic voters.

Constable 1st Magistrate District


Jimmy Aaron, incumbent, 719

Gary "Tic" Kindoll, 224

Alan Woosley, 74

No Republican candidates were on the ballot.

Constable 2nd Magistrate District


David M. Miles, 385

Glenn Chatham, incumbent, 289

Chris Reese, 136

David Wayne Wilkerson, 51

Marty Gividen, 49

Roy McAllister, 16

No Republican candidates were on the ballot.

Constable 3rd Magistrate District


Chris Crase, incumbent, 365

Ronnie Walker, 177

Chris Brock, 167

Bryan Crawford, 101

Eddie Hewitt, 92

Bruce Westrick, 65

Joshua T. Glacken, 55

James Thomas, 19

Greg England, 16

Chad W. Lowrance, 12