Many familiar faces to the Carrollton City Council attended their last official meeting on Monday, with new city officials set to take offices in 2013.

City clerk-treasurer Becky Pyles announced her resignation and retirement during the council meeting. While the council knew of Pyles' coming retirement for a while, her last day will be Dec. 31.

"I have served with five mayors and 12 different council members, two of whom became mayors, and six city attorneys," Pyles read from the letter. "We have all made great strides for the city of Carrollton, and I thank each and every one of you for your confidence in my ability to serve as city clerk-treasurer for 27 years."

Mayor Gene McMurry and council members thanked Pyles for her years of service to the city, as well as her expertise over the years.

"I don't think anybody I've ever met has as much knowledge on city government as she does," McMurry said.

A retirement party will be held in Pyles' honor from 4 to 6 p.m. Wednesday at Carrollton City Hall Council Chambers, 750 Clay St.

Assistant city clerk Leatha Grimes will take over as the city's clerk-treasurer on Jan. 1.

Nick Marsh announced that he would be stepping down as city attorney earlier this year. Marsh's resignation takes effect Dec. 31.

The city council heard and approved a second reading to allow the mayor to enter into a contract with G. Edward James as the attorney for the city beginning Jan. 1. The contract will last through June 30, 2013.

The council also said farewell to Joan Moore, director of the Carroll County Community Development Corporation, who attended her last meeting in her official capacity Monday.

"I don't have any bad news," Moore said during her report to the council about grant applications. "I just don't have any news."

Grant awards would be reported to the departments that applied for them when a decision was made, she said.

Moore helped bring in more than $4 million in grants to Carroll County during the past five years, she said. She said she has enjoyed working for the city and different departments over the years.

"Grant writers are only as good as the experts you work with," Moore told the council.

McMurry presented plaques to outgoing council members Kevin Craig, Larry Morgan and Adam Raker for their service during the past several years. McMurry thanked each council member for their work to move the city forward.

He also presented a plaque to Nick Marsh for his five years of service and teen council member Brandon Stewart for his participation this year. Teen council member Kelley Wheeler was absent from the meeting.

In other business:

• Council members reappointed Beau Arney, Ed Raker and Sam Burgess to the city's planning and zoning committee. Paul Shovlin was appointed to replace Hayley Franklin, whose term ends this year. The committee members will serve through Dec. 31, 2016.

Council members reappointed Tony Gossom to the city's board of adjustments though Dec. 31, 2016. They also reappointed Maguana Qualls, Doug Ramsey and Mary Frances Mefford to the city's code enforcement board through Dec. 31, 2015.

Traci McBurney, Nancy Jo Grubmyer and Lois Robbins were reappointed to the city's design review board through Dec. 31, 2014. Carolyn Glauber and Grobmyer were reappointed to the urban forestry board, and Ashley Froman was reappointed to the tourism board through December 2015.

• The city council also heard the first reading of a resolution for the mayor to enter into a contract with St. Elizabeth Business Health as an employee assistance provider for drug and alcohol counseling.

"We have to have this available," McMurry said.

The city had a contract with a counselor in Madison, but that person retired recently. The center at St. Elizabeth provides services similar to what the city had previously.