The candidate filing period for the May 2014 primary election opened Wednesday.

The primary election will include seats from the County Council, Board of Commissioners, Hanover Town Council, state convention delegates, county assessor, county auditor, county clerk and sheriff and all township trustee and township advisory board positions.

The terms of the Jefferson County Superior Court judge and Jefferson County prosecutor also are up this year. Candidates must file for those positions in Indianapolis, along with residents seeking state House or Senate positions.

No city seats are up for election this year.

Residents can file in the voter registration office on the second floor of the Courthouse from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m.

The filing period ends Feb. 7 at noon. The primary is May 6, and the General Election is Nov. 4.

Friday filings include:

• Thomas K. Pietrykowski, Democrat, County Commissioner Upper District.

• Tom Webber, Democrat, Republican Advisory Board.

• Judy L. Smith, Republican, County Council District 4.

• Clark K. Collier, Democrat, Convention Delegate.

• David W. Carlow, Republican, Convention Delegate.

Previous filings:

• Gary Armbrecht, Democrat, County Council District 3

• Tara D. Cash, Democrat, Smyrna Township Trustee

• Krista M. Coles, Democrat, Smyrna Advisory Board

• Chris R. Shelton, Republican, County Council District 2 and state delegate

• Jennifer Shelton, Democrat, Hanover Town Council at-large

• Wes Thomas: Democrat, Saluda Advisory Board

• Yancy W. York: Democrat, Saluda Township Trustee

• Tina M. Gleeson: Republican, County Assessor

• Karen L. Mannix: Republican, County Clerk

• John I. Wallace: Republican, Sheriff

• Barbara J. Disbro: Republican, state delegate

• David B. Nickels: Democrat, County Clerk

• Fred L. Stilwell: Democrat, Republican Township Trustee

• Melinda K. McGee: Republican, state delegate

• Rick Reuss: Republican, state delegate

• Robert M. Wynn: Republican, state delegate