Carroll County's sheriff and jailer won their party's nominations to seek re-election in the November election.

Sheriff Jamie Kinman and Jailer Michael W. Humphrey won their elections with more than 60 percent of the votes in Tuesday's primary election.

Both incumbents are expected to win re-election in November as neither faces a Republican opponent. Only write-in candidates may now file to run on the general election ballot.

Kinman defeated three other Democrats, receiving 1,721 votes -  61 percent of the votes cast.

"I'm very thankful to the people of Carroll County," Kinman said Tuesday night.

Kinman said he's glad Carroll County voters appreciate and value the law enforcement efforts of the sheriff's office during the last four years, and he looks forward to improving on those efforts and strengthening the department while serving the residents of Carroll County over the next four years.

Todd Yocum received 571 votes, Eddie Mefford got 488 votes, and Roy McAllister received 51 votes.

Humphrey got the nomination for jailer, a seat he's held for 20 years.

Humphrey received 1,811 votes - or nearly 65 percent.

The jailer oversees the Carroll County Detention Center in Carrollton, as well as the jail's annual budget.

Humphrey defeated challenger Scott Rose, who received 983 votes.

Carroll Constables

Constable candidates are elected in each of the three magisterial districts of the county to serve four-year terms.

Jimmy Aaron won the nomination for District 1 with 660 votes, or by 73 percent. He defeated Richie L. Carter, who received 140 votes, and J.J. Ward, who received 100 votes.

David M. Miles defeated Glenn Chatham in District 2. Miles received 480 votes to Chatham's 379.

Chris Crase won in District 3 with 650 votes over David Hendren. Hendren received 307 votes.

No Republicans will be on the ballot for constable.