Nearly every county race in November's general election will be contested. The filing deadline for county seats expired Thursday at noon. Only Jefferson County Prosecutor Chad Lewis and County Assessor Tina Gleeson will reclaim their seats unchallenged.

This year's county election will feature 18 candidates vying for nine offices. Four Democrats and three Republicans will challenge for the four open County Council seats.

Norbert Schafer, Dale A. Armstrong and John Hutchinson were all placed on the ballot by their respective parties. Individuals can be appointed by party chairmen if a candidate doesn't step forward for the primary election.

The November ballot:

• Superior Court Judge: Alison Frazier (R); Mike Hensley (D)

• Prosecutor: Chad Lewis (D); no Republican candidate

• Assessor: Tina Gleeson (R); no Democrat candidate

• Clerk: Karen Mannix (R); David Nickels (D); Nancy L. Webster (I)

• Auditor: Sherry Eblen (R); Kathryn Havens Sauer (D)

• Sheriff: John Wallace (R); Bronson Hensley Sr. (D)

• County Commissioners, Upper District: Norbert Schafer (R); Thomas K. Pietrykowski (D)

• County Council, District 1: Ray Denning (R); Mike Bruce (D)

• County Council, District 2: Chris Shelton (R); Dale A. Armstrong (D)

• County Council, District 3: Gary Armbrecht (D); no Republican candidate

• County Council, District 4: Judy Andrew Smith (R); John Hutchinson (D)