One of the longest running Madison Regatta Festival events, the bed race, is being scrapped this year due to lack of interest, Regatta officials announced Wednesday.

Festival chairperson Amy Ralston made the announcement at the monthly general membership meeting at the VFW Post 1969. While Ralston did not rule out the bed race's return in the future, for now, the event is gone.

"There isn't going to be a bed race this year due to lack of interest in the past years," Ralston said. "We're looking into other events right now and if anybody has any suggestions we'd be happy to hear them."

The bed race has been one of the longest running Regatta events and typically draws some of the biggest crowds. But it has been harder and harder to find enough teams, and the Regatta has been left scrambling at the last minute to fill out a four-team field.

The loss of the bed race leaves a hole in the festival schedule on Tuesday of race week, a hole that Ralston hopes to fill by next month.

In other business:

• The Madison Regatta now has new phone and fax numbers. The new phone number is (812) 274-0400 and the fax number is (812) 274-0401.

• Admission wristbands are expected to be on hand by May 1 and the Regatta hopes to begin advanced sales shortly thereafter.

• The Madison Regatta will have a presence in this year's Kentucky Derby Festival. The Miss Madison display boat will be on the great lawn for Thunder Over Louisville and will also be in the Pegasus Parade on May 2.

• All permits with the state of Indiana, the commonwealth of Kentucky, the Federal Aviation Administration, the United States Coast Guard and the American Power Boat Association have been filed. The Regatta has also signed all insurance paperwork.

• Nominations for officers for the 2014 race were held. Nominations were: vice president - Jeff Chandler and Matt True; secretary - Amy Ralston and Dana Sullivan; treasurer - Pat Brooks and Crystal McHargue; race chairperson - Mike Adams, Buddy Gaw, Mark Fisher and Joe Voll; assistant race chairperson - Gene Parks; sponsorship chairperson - Dan Cole and Scott Tebbe; festival chairperson - Kim Washer; board of directors - Rob Colson, Carol Emerson, Caroline Fisher, Buddy Gaw, John Knoebel, Jacob Lowry, Joe Voll and Brian Wilson.

The vice-president will serve as president for the 2015 race. Current vice-president Tim Torrance will be president in 2014.