The Visit Madison Board of Directors elected a new president, vice president and secretary/treasurer at a special meeting Tuesday following the resignation of five board members earlier this month.

Internal tensions between tourism officials came to a head at an Aug. 5 meeting for the Jefferson County Board of Tourism, when a disagreement over funding for the upcoming 5 to the 5 Vintage Hydros event resulted in board member Renie Stephens leaving the meeting and resignations by her, Robert Little and Kathy Petkovic over the course of the next week.

Resignations also followed on the Visit Madison board, with president Cara Fox, secretary/treasurer John Nyberg and members Dave Adams, Tara Cox and Stephens stepping down.

Visit Madison on Tuesday first nominated member Joe Craig to serve as board president for the remainder of the year, but he chose not to accept the nomination. A second nomination was made for Lucy Dattilo as president, and she was elected unanimously.

Craig then accepted a nomination for vice president and was also elected unanimously, as was Executive Committee Member and Madison Community Relations Director Hannah Fagen for the office of secretary/treasurer.

The remaining vacancies — three on the JCBT and five on Visit Madison — will now have to be filled by local government entities with representation on the Visit Madison Board of Directors.

The Visit Madison Board of Directors will meet again at 10 a.m. on Aug. 31.