Subscribe | Contact Us | Facebook | Twitter | Unlimiteds | Home | eCourier | Archives | Looking Ahead 2018
Madison Courier
  • Thursday, March 22, 2018 3:00 PM
    To the editor:

    I have to disagree with my friend Ben Newell, a truly good man, with his advice not to vote (Madison Courier, March 20). I too am pro-life and abhor the fact that abortion is the law of the land, but until the Constitution is changed or the justices of the U.S. Supreme Court change its rulings, we are stuck with abortion as a possible outcome in this country. I agree we should let our senators and representatives know our beliefs, but my advice is then to vote your values. 
  • Tuesday, March 20, 2018 3:00 PM
    To the editor:

    In response to the latest school shootings, Rep. John Yarmuth of Louisville declared that those that didn’t take his position of gun control were culpable in the gun violence that rages through our society.
  • Wednesday, March 7, 2018 3:00 PM
    To the editor:

    Are there no laws in this county?

    You race down our streets, you run every stop sign,

    you throw your trash and beer cans in our yards.
  • Friday, February 9, 2018 3:00 PM
    To the editor:

    I am writing today to advocate for those under current Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA) protection, the DREAMers. DACA enables illegal immigrants, brought to America as a “DREAMer” to work without citizenship status.
  • Friday, February 9, 2018 3:00 PM
    To the Editor:

    It appears to me that the Mustangs, glass-packed appointed pickup trucks and other speedsters who approach the East-bound Walnut Street stoplight have become impatient. I say impatient because from my front porch I can hear and see them go with pedal to the metal down East Main. 
  • Friday, February 9, 2018 2:58 PM
    To the Editor:

    The Women’s March in January this year and last got a lot of media coverage and supposedly included all women. There was a group of women not included, at least that we know of for sure in the January 2017 March for Women in D.C. and Vegas. It is probably the same this year in 2018 from listening to what their agenda is. Groups of Pro Life Women were turned down for the official Women’s March in D.C. and Vegas when they applied to be in the march of January 2017. The Women’s March was reported as having marches in cities in the U.S. and elsewhere.
  • Wednesday, February 7, 2018 3:00 PM
    To the editor:

    According to the Monday, Jan. 29th, 2018 Madison Courier’s police records there were a total of seventy-seven traffic stops made by the Madison Police Department, the Jefferson County Sherriff’s Department, and the Hanover Police Department resulting in 39 warnings issued, six verbal warnings, 18 citations issued and three arrests made. 
  • Courthouse tree ‘the best Christmas gift’
    Saturday, January 20, 2018 9:00 AM
    To the Editor:

    I know it’s a little late, but to see a beautiful Christmas tree at the corner of Jefferson and Main when I came in to visit my aunt for Christmas was a sight for sore eyes. I remember stopping in Madison when I was young with my parents and always went to the courthouse to see the tree.
  • Reaching rural America with broadband internet service
    Thursday, January 18, 2018 3:00 PM

    All across the U.S., rural communities’ residents are being left out of modern society and the 21st Century economy. I’ve traveled to Kansas, Maine, Texas and other states studying internet access and use — and I hear all the time from people with a crucial need still unmet. Rural Americans want faster, cheaper internet like their city-dwelling compatriots have, letting them work remotely and use online services, to access shopping, news, information and government data.
  • Wednesday, January 17, 2018 3:00 PM
    Indianapolis — Joining dozens of other governors and hundreds of and county leaders nationwide, Gov. Eric Holcomb has issued a proclamation officially declaring Jan. 21-27 as Indiana School Choice Week, the governor’s office announced Tuesday.
  • Friday, January 12, 2018 3:00 PM
    To the Editor

    A recent article in the Madison Courier about the new Tax Act asked the question whether it will turn out to be your ugly sweater your aunt gave you last year for Christmas or your favorite present? Rather than having a biased politician tell you the answer, find out for yourself.
  • Saturday, December 30, 2017 9:00 AM
    To the editor:

    I wanted to bring to your attention a glaring misstatement in your Wednesday, Dec. 20, 2017 article “Final salute.”
  • Jordan Rau
    Wednesday, December 27, 2017 3:00 PM
    The federal government Thursday lowered a year’s worth of Medicare payments to 751 hospitals to penalize them for having the highest rates of patient injuries.
  • Jordan Rau
    Wednesday, December 27, 2017 3:00 PM
    A Kaiser Health News analysis of federal inspection records shows that nursing home inspectors labeled mistakes in infection control as serious for only 161 of the 12,056 homes they have cited since 2014.
    Wednesday, December 27, 2017 3:00 PM
    Westminster Village North, a nursing home and retirement community in Indianapolis, recently added 25 beds and two kitchens to speed food delivery to residents. It also redesigned patient rooms to ease wheelchair use and added Wi-Fi and flat-screen televisions. This fall, it’s opening a new assisted living unit.
  • Thursday, December 21, 2017 3:00 PM
    To the editor: The Madison Consolidated School Board’s decision to improve Anderson Elementary and abandon E.O. Muncie should begin a thoughtful community discussion about what will become of this 20-acre parcel in the middle of the hilltop.
  • Thursday, December 21, 2017 3:00 PM
    To the editor: As a member of the federal community who served our country for years, I am concerned with an attempt to force current U.S. Postal Service retirees onto Medicare Part B, after they previously declined this coverage. While hailed as a way to improve USPS’ finances, this is nothing more than balancing the books on the backs of seniors.
  • Friday, December 15, 2017 3:00 PM
    Dear Sen. Young and Rep. Messer,

    The GOP says the tax bill you support will benefit Hoosiers and all Americans. It’s my opinion, as well as the opinion of most economists, that — to put it as nicely as possible — a great exaggeration.
  • Thursday, December 14, 2017 3:00 PM
    To the editor: 

    I would like to compliment Marci Jones and VisitMadison, public site entities, the homeowners, and ALL the dedicated volunteers who worked so hard to make this year’s “Nights Before Christmas Candlelight Tour of Homes” a success.
  • Monday, December 11, 2017 3:00 PM
    To the editor: 

    Thank you very much for your thorough and prominent coverage of the Affordable Care signup process in November and December this year.
Looking for something older? Try our archive search

© 2018 The Madison Courier 310 Courier Square, Madison, IN 47250 (812) 265-3641 (800) 333-2885

All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Software © 2018 1up! Software, All Rights Reserved