Several Courierarea schools have nominated students for the 2017 Indiana Academic All-Star program.

Each year, high schools in Indiana may nominate one senior for the award. A maximum of 90 students nominated are selected as statewide regional winners by a committee. Forty of the regional winners are chosen as Indiana Academic All-Stars.

The award is sponsored by the Indiana Association of School Principals and recognizes students with an excellent academic record. This record includes course load, grade point average and above average SAT/ACT scores, as well as school and community involvement.

Local students nominated for the award include Madison Consolidated High School’s Claire Lostutter, Shawe Memorial Junior-Senior High School’s Mackenzie Ott and Switzerland County High School’s Mackenzie Covington.

Southwestern High School has not chosen a nominee at this time.