2016 Hanover College President Honors the Arts. (Hanover College Flickr photo)
2016 Hanover College President Honors the Arts. (Hanover College Flickr photo)
Hanover College’s annual celebration of students in the arts begins at 7:30 p.m. today at the Lynn Center for Fine Arts’ Fitzgibbon Recital Hall.

“The President Honors the Arts” program is a free event that is open to the public.

Students in music, art history, art and design, creative writing and theatre will all perform or have work on display during the evening event.

College president Lake Lambert, now hosting his second event, will provide opening and closing remarks.

The night will begin with a performance of “Back Home Again in Indiana,” from the Hanover College Chamber Singers conducted by Madlen Batchvarova, professor of music and director of choral programs.

Student singers include Abigail Riedman, Abigail Rinck, Kaitlin Sanders, Peyton Spaugh, Mackenzie Spicer, Rebecca Thorpe, Sydney Bethea, Bailey Garey, Tristen Greene, Madison Grimes, Falyn Moncrief, Jacob Domalewski, Bryant Grider, Jack Elias and Jacob Zurschmiede.

Zoe Burrow also will perform Friedrich Burgmüller’s “Andante,” on piano followed by Jacob Domalewski singing John Jacob Niles’ “Black is the Color of My True Love’s Hair,” accompanied by Batchvarova on piano.

For the art history portion of the evening, student Samantha McCain will make a presentation on visual narratives.

Senior studio art students Malik Hairston, Cassandra Higdon, Stephanie Simpson and Ivy Stevens will be featured inside the Greiner Gallery with pieces from their thesis work.

The artists will be available in the gallery following the event to discuss their work.

Original pieces will be read by creative writing students including Jessica Rieskamp, Gabbi Thatcher, Molly Miller, Katie Schmidt, Allison Campbell and Kimberly Litchfield. Rieskamp will also read Sydney Hornsby’s “The Land of Hate.”

For the night’s final performance, theater students will perform a short one-act work featured in this spring’s earlier Ten Minute Play event.

“Ex Marks the Spot,” features actors Emma Grimes, Samuel Tyo, Carson Bailey and Katy Dudzik. The play was written by Shane Totten, directed by Tessa McShane with costumes by Taryn Mayer.