The Woman's Press Club of Indiana plans to award three $500 scholarships to Indiana students or professional journalists interested in pursuing a career in journalism, upgrading skills or for public service work.

The Hortense Myers Memorial Journalism $500 Scholarship will be awarded to a junior-level Indiana college student, male or female, who plan a career in journalism. Myers, a former UPI statehouse reporter, was the first woman to work for the International Press Service.

The Louise Eleanor Ross Kleinhenz Memorial $500 Scholarship will be awarded to a woman over age 30 who wishes to upgrade her skills to re-enter the journalism job market or to transition into another journalism job. This award is in memory of Kleinhenz, a 45-year Woman's Press Club of Indiana member and former president of the organization.

The Julie and Gene Slaymaker $500 Scholarship for Public Service will be awarded to a student or professional journalist who provided public service to journalism in the past year. The applicant must provide documentation from the public service recipient.

Contest rules are online at Submissions for the awards are due by Friday, April 19.

The awards will be presented on May 18 during the club's annual banquet.