Local schools took part in the annual Indiana State School Music Association Solo and Ensemble competition at Floyd Central High School earlier this month.

Students from Shawe Memorial, Madison Consolidated and Switzerland County high schools competed in wind, percussion, and string instrument solo and ensemble performances.

Students receiving gold ratings in solo performance will move on to state competition on Feb. 25 at North Central High School in Indianapolis.

Madison Consolidated

Four high school students received gold ratings in solo performance including Isaac Boone on saxophone, Luka Chabukashvili on saxophone, Miranda Anderson on French horn and Tatum Lynch on trumpet.

Participating junior high students returned from competition with seven gold and six silver medals.

Participants were Jada Aldridge, Sebastian Biallas, Kelsey Bilz, Aliza Boles, Logan Combs, Ariannah Harris, Zola Jackson, Jaylin Lee, Taylor Lynch, Van Skinner, McKalyn Stewart and Nick Whitaker.

Shawe Memorial

Shawe students receiving gold ratings in the solo contest were: Jacob Binzer on clarinet, Patric Scroggins on trombone, Nolan Tandy on trumpet, Christian Whitham on trumpet, Andy Furnish on trumpet and Gage Love on trombone.

Ensembles receiving gold medals were saxophone trio Kristen Snodgrass, Trinity Jones and Jacob Binzer; clarinet quartet Jacob Binzer, Leigh Anne Gaminde, Emma Belt and Karina Rodriguez; brass quartet Nolan Tandy, Christian Whitham, Patric Scroggins and Gage Love; and brass quintet Aaron Petersen, Charity Green, Keefer Hagan, Ethan McCarter and Patric Scroggins.

Silver medal soloists were Trinity Jones on flute, Olivia Drumm on trumpet and Joey Belt on marimba.

Switzerland County

Students from both the middle and high schools participated in solo competitions and two ensemble performances. In all, students received seven gold and 10 silver medals.

Participating students from the middle school were Madison Brabant, Raychel Hensley, Bailey Castle, Alisha Detmer, Annie Faddis. Aubbrey Biddingger, Aden Hood, Peyton Fixmer, Abby Cole. High school participants were Natalie Newman, Elliott Moore, Kailey Wiley and Allen Jones.

No Southwestern students participated in this year’s ISSMA contest.