Devin W. Ferguson of Madison was named to the dean's list for the August 2012 session at the University of Northwestern Ohio in the College of Applied Technologies. Full-time students must receive a grade point average of 3.5 or higher to be honored.

The Georgia Institute of Technology welcomed Robert Haney of Bedford, Ky. as a freshman during the fall semester of the 2012-2013 school year. Haney is an aerospace engineering major.

Twelve local students were among more than 2,400 new freshman who enrolled at Eastern Kentucky University this past fall. Local members of the new class include, Kayla Kidwell and Mackenzie Sutherland, both of Bedford, Ky.; Jayla Tomlinson, Devin Gray, Nicole Meadows and Brandon Rassman, all of Carrollton, Ky.; Leah Chandler of Ghent, Ky.; Andrea Hardesty of Sanders, Ky.; Konnor Kimmel, Michael Gonterman and Skiler Alexander, all of Milton, Ky.; and Zoe Mires of Madison.

Three local students participated in the University of Evansville Department of Music's 33rd annual Holiday Pops concert Dec. 4 at the Victory Theatre in downtown Evansville. Those participating included Amanda Buell of Dupont, Robert Reno of Lexington and Isabelle Smith of Madison.

Three local students were recently accepted to Union College for the fall semester of 2013. Those accepted include Trey Boles and Jessica Price, of Carrollton, Ky., and Clayton Martin of Milton, Ky. The school is located in Barbourville, Ky.

Karen Popp of Bedford, Ky. was one of 78 Eastern Kentucky University students inducted into the EKU chapter of The Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi on Nov. 13. Membership is by invitation and requires nomination and approval by a chapter.