Indiana University-Purdue University Columbus hosted its 44th annual commencement celebration May 10 in the Columbus North High School gymnasium.

There were 261 graduates in the class of 2014. Local graduates included: Juanita Lee Lock of Canaan; Christine Hurst of Deputy; Deborah Jean Dilk of Dupont; and Lindsay Marie Baughman, Dorothy Hoffmann, Kathryn Lawrence, Tiffany Taylor and Laura Todd, all of Madison.

Clark Vaughn of Madison, was one of 40 high school seniors from Indiana named to the Indiana Academic All-Stars, a program of the Indiana Association of School Principals. Honorees were recognized during a luncheon April 16 in Indianapolis.

Academic All-Star distinction recognizes seniors who excel in the classroom, and are all actively involved in their schools and communities, and take on leadership roles in those activities.

Each public and private high school accredited by the Indiana Department of Education may nominate one senior for consideration. From these nominees, a selection committee chose the Regional winners and the Indiana Academic All-Stars.

Each nominated student submits an essay recognizing his or her most influential educator. Based on Vaughn's submitted essay, a $1,000 teacher award was presented by Marian University Academy for Teaching and Learning to Madison Consolidated High School teacher Lee Strassell.

Emily K. Goins of Madison graduated May 18 from Manchester University with a bachelor of science degree in psychology and social work. She is a graduate of Madison Consolidated High School.

Brittin Jenkins of Madison graduated May 18 with a bachelor of science degree in mechanical engineering technology from Purdue University.

Amy E. Lange of Hanover recently graduated from Oregon State University with a Doctor of Philosophy in geology.

Julia Wise of Madison was recently named to the dean's list for the spring semester of the 2013-2014 school year at Baldwin Wallace University. Wise, a graduate of Shawe Memorial High School, is majoring in instrumental music. Students named to the list must earn a minimum of a 3.6 grade point average on a 4.0 scale for seven or more graded credit hours in a semester.

Emily Armstrong of Lexington and Sarah Spaulding of Madison, were among 731 students from Butler University who were named to the dean's list for the spring semester of the 2013-2014 school year. Armstrong is a pre-pharmacy major. Spaulding is a communication science and disorder major.

Matthew P. Jung of Madison was among the recipients master's degrees conferred by The University of Scranton at its post-baccalaureate commencement on May 31 in the Byron Recreation Complex. Jung earned a master of science degree with a major in curriculum and instruction.

Meghan McClelland of Madison was recently named to the dean's list for the fall semester of the 2013-2014 school year at University College.