Two local high school students were awarded the 2013 Saint Michael's College Book Award for Academic Achievement with a Social Conscience. Those recognized were Christopher Boone of Madison and Catherine Grote of Madison, both students at Shawe Memorial Junior/Senior High School.

The award recognizes students who demonstrate a commitment to leadership in volunteer service and academic achievement. Award recipients are high school juniors who are inductees of the National Honor Society or an equivalent school-sponsored honors organization.

Tammy Moore of Vevay has been admitted into the Doctor of Ministry and Master of Arts in Christian Ministries program at the United Theological Seminary for fall semester of the 2013-2014 school year.

Jenna Spiller of Madison has been awarded the Olive Carruthers Clifft Endowed Presidential Scholarship from the University of Southern Indiana in Evansville. Spiller, a graduate of the Indiana Academy for Science, Mathematics, & Humanities, is the daughter of Doug and JoAnne Spiller. She plans to major in nursing.

Presidential scholarships are awarded annually to 10 Indiana valedictorians and salutatorians of senior high school classes. Applicants must attend a state-commissioned high school in Indiana and earn an SAT score of 1200 (without writing component) or 1800 (with writing component), or an ACT composite score of 27.

Emily Mccane of Hanover has been accepted to Ashland University for the fall semester of 2014. Mccane, who is a senior at Southwestern Junior-Senior High School, will receive the Director's Scholarship for $7,000 annually.

Abbey Stillwell, daughter of Patrick Stillwell of Woodbury, Minn., and Carla Stillwell of Madison was selected for the 2013-2014 academic year to be a resident assistant for the Office of Student Life at Saint Michael's College, in Burlington, Vt. Stillwell, a senior psychology major, is a graduate of Shawe Memorial Junior-Senior High School.

Resident assistants are selected from the entire Saint Michael's undergraduate student population on the basis of faculty and staff recommendations.

Kaitlin Adler of Madison has been selected to join the University of Evansville's Leadership Academy, a student organization dedicated to developing leadership abilities in students. Adler is majoring in pre-physical therapy. She became a Leadership Academy member after completing an application process, recommendation review and interview with the organization's advisory council.

Douglas Totten of Hanover has been named to the dean's list at Carleton College. Totten is the son of Mark Totten and Nancy Totten. A member of the class of 2016, Totten is a graduate of Shawe Memorial Junior-Senior High School. The dean's list is compiled each summer and is drawn from the top ten percent of the previous year's first-year, sophomore and junior classes.

Southwestern Middle School recently announced the students of the month for September. Students honored were:

Sixth Grade: Reading/English, Alida Flores and Mitchell Adcock; math, Madelynn Jacobs and Alessandro Nonato; social studies, Katelynn Buchanan and Josef Stevens; writing, Hailey Heavrin and Seanna Romans; science, Belle Stubbins and Jenna Wilson; and health Trenton Hadley and Alessandro Nonato.

Seventh Grade: English, Jasmine Fossett and Abel Rueda; enrichment, Addison Hill, Riley Elliott and Alyssa Crowe; pre-algebra, Zachary Smith, Faith Phelps, Annie Young and Grace Marshall; science, Eric Scott and Zachary Smith; social studies, Jonathan Stockdale and Kassey Worcester; health, Talon Harmon and Addison Hill; and reading, Annie Young, Kasey Watterson, Bailie Prsecher and Grace Marshall.

Eighth Grade: English, Zachary Files and Prezley Hartman; science, Taylor Cole and Caleb Harsin; pre-algebra, Morgan Huttsell and Michael Skirvin; health, Nathaniel Griffin and Prezley Hartman; and algebra, Zachary Files.