- Three Switzerland County Pacers and one Southwestern Rebel were named to the All-Ohio Valley Conference baseball team in voting by league coaches.

Nathan Hunter, Kyle Konkle and Bob Tressler were each voted to the team from Switzerland County. Southwestern's Tryston Wheatley was also named to the team.

The rest of the selections were: Jac-Cen-Del's Ethan Adams, Dominique Norman and Alex Schoettmer; Rising Sun's Austin Armstrong, Ryan Dugan, Mitchell Morris and Cody Weaver; South Ripley's Joe Dicken and Logan Linkmeyer; and Milan's Sam Rehn and Brennan Tinker.

Dicken was named the Mental Attitude Award winner and David Bradshaw of conference champion Jac-Cen-Del was named the coach of the year. The ORVC does not hand out a player of the year.

- Six local athletes were named to the All-Ohio River Valley Conference softball team in voting by league coaches.

Southwestern's Kelsi Brierly, Austin Courtney and Karli Long, Switzerland County's Kelsi Konkle and Brooke Todd, and Shawe's Maddie Waller were each named to the team.

The rest of the selections were: Rising Sun's Bailee Bostic, Alix DeDreu, Sydney Elliott, Taylor Mullen and Sydney Willhite; South Ripley's Emily Cumberworth, Kayla King and Allie Sexton; and Milan's Hanna Lohrum and Morgan Widener.

Cumberworth and Jac-Cen-Del's Lindsey Sutton were named Co-Mental Attitude Award winners while David Brown of league champion Rising Sun was named coach of the year. The ORVC does not name a player of the year.

- The Ohio River Valley Conference has named its all-conference team in track.

Award winners for the boys were: Tyler Johnson, Jac-Cen-Del, discus and shot put; Austin Allen, South Ripley, long jump, 100 dash, 200 dash and 400 dash; Austin Martin, Rising Sun, high jump and 100 hurdles; Ben Curran, Switzerland Co., 300 hurdles; Braden Burk, Switzerland Co., 800 run and 1600 run; Talen Taylor, Switzerland Co., 3200 run; Jake Uhlmansiek, Ryan Dugan, Matt Yocum and Bryce Potraffke, Rising Sun, 400 relay; Uhlmansiek, Yocum, Dugan and Briar Miller, Rising Sun, 1600 relay; and Zack Martini, Dugan, Claudio Gallegos and Miller, Rising Sun, 3200 relay.

Award winners for the girls were: Whitney Chapman, Rising Sun, discus; Bethani Kleopfer, Southwestern, shot put; Emily Cumberworth, South Ripley, long jump and 100 dash; McKayli Scudder, Switzerland Co., high jump; Kelsey Bowling, Jac-Cen-Del, 100 hurdles and 300 hurdles; Grace Herzog, Milan, 200 dash and 400 dash; Savannah Rueda, Southwestern, 800 run; Kinzie Scott, Rising Sun, 1600 run and 3200 run; Eve Galbreath, Moriah Northcutt, Bre Ricketts and Megan Dasis, Switzerland Co., 400 relay; Jenna Hughes, Kayla Bowling, Kelsey Bowling and Sasha Wagner, Jac-Cen-Del, 1600 relay; and Emily Craig, Erin Webb, Bailey Baker and Scott, Rising Sun, 3200 relay.

Rising Sun's Austin Martin was named the Mental Attitude Award winner on the boys side while Switzerland County's Bre Ricketts and South Ripley's Marcela Foster shared the award in girls. Rising Sun's Jason Barth (boys) and Adam Pietrykowski (girls) were named coaches of the year.

- Carroll County baseball held its postseason awards program this week and Zakk Hicks picked up the top overall Most Valuable Player Award as well as the Cy Young Award as the team's top pitcher.

The Panthers (21-13) closed out the season earlier in the week with a loss in the semifinals for the Eighth Region Tournament. However, Carroll won the North Central Kentucky Conference championship, the All "A" Classic Eighth Region championship and the 31st District championship during the 2014 season.

Hicks was also recognized for all-conference and as a member of the Eighth Region all-tourney team.

Other award winners were: Jacob Wise, team captain, senior plaque and most stolen bases; Keifer McIntyre, most quality at bats and senior plaque; Boo Donahue, Gold Glove Award; Seth Hicks, rookie of the year, Silver Slugger and varsity letter; Justin Ray, highest batting average and all-conference; Austin Dunn, all-conference and Coaches Award; Evan McMahan, varsity letter and Coaches Award; Wyatt Boswell, Coaches Award; Alex Burns, Coaches Award; John Adams, Eighth region all-tourney team, team captain and senior plaque, Taylor Hill, highest GPA and senior plaque; Austin Crowell, highest GPA and senior plaque; Will Wallace, highest GPA, team captain and senior plaque; and Tyler Stewart and Stephan Fornash, both for varsity letters.

- Carroll County's Lauren Moore has been voted to play on the Seventh-Eighth Region Junior All-Star team next month in Louisville.

The game, which pits top girls and boys players from Kentucky's seventh and eighth regions against their counterparts from the fifth and sixth regions will be June 21 at Bellarmine University.

Coaches in those four regions nominate player for the games, a ballot is then sent to each of the coaches to pick the top five players from their region. Coaches may not vote for their own players.

- Tryouts for a local 14U travel softball team will be today at Southwestern High School.

The tryout runs from 9:30 a.m. to noon and girls must be 13-14 years old and willing to play multiple weekends in June and July.

For more info, call coach Randy Wilson at (812) 216-1961.

- Madison softball will be host a youth camp June 9-10 for grades 3-8.

The camp runs 9 a.m. to 11:30 a.m. and 12:30 p.m. to 2:30 p.m. daily. Pitching instruction with Buster Combs along with hitting and fielding emphasis will be provided.

Cost of camp is $40 and includes a camp T-shirt. Lunch will not be provided. Forms and payment may be turned into the Madison High School athletic office. All checks should be made payable to Madison softball.

For more info, call Madison varsity softball coach Tony Ralston at (812) 701-6544.